Baul Song Groove

While I’m on this “let’s upload all my stuff” kick, here is a groove I put together with a sample from part of that huge Alan Lomax collection. The song is from India, as you can probably hear. The drum loop I chose was not in a triplet groove like the other sample, so I cut it up and made it work (by, more or less, bringing the upbeat a little bit forward in time and then duplicating it a little later). Also, while we’re on the subject, each repeating unit is 11 beats. It was *fun* to fudge a 4 beat funk break to lay nicely across 11. I have plans to do a lot more with this song. I set aside some more samples from the original tune which, I think, will make it all much more interesting.

Baul Song Groove by coherent.noise

Leave a Reply

