Real Arty Bollocks

Some time back I posted something about an automatic arty bollocks generator. I found it amusing, but a little over the top.

That is, until now.

I came across this photograph (which I like a lot) and read the associated statement (which I abhor). Let me amplify. Actually, let the artist amplify on his own behalf:

By treating artifacts of consumer culture as Duchampian-inspired Assisted Readymades, I photograph assemblages, created by my own hand, that form monuments, or totems, serving as precarious externalizations of culture and social biography.

Isn’t “Duchampian-inspired Assisted Readymade” redundant at best? Could he mean that he’s getting back to the roots of readymade and isn’t inspired by anyone after Duchamp. Nope, because that would be “Duchamp-inspired.” And does “Assisted Readymade” really warrant title case? How about that bit about “precarious externalizations?” I hope he’s using “externalization” in a Freudian sense, in which case there could be a lot of interesting meaning there. But after that redundant first half of the sentence, I’m not so sure.

 

3 responses to “Real Arty Bollocks

  1. I generated my Arty Bollocks 3 (count ’em – THREE!) different times, and I’m apparently well-versed in the art of gibberish.
    But, I did notice that my focus, as an artist, gravitates to concepts that are inevitably corroded and bastardized by lust. Now, I’m not entirely influenced by Freud (yet), but there’s gotta be a sexual frustration/kinky need to get punched in the face during sex at play in my thought process.

    And oh, this is gold: “With influences as diverse as Machiavelli and L Ron Hubbard, new combinations are synthesised from both mundane and transcendant dialogues.”
    All hail Xenu!

    Love the blog, Andrew!

  2. Pingback: Snapshots Smeared Across Space and Time « squishyrobot·

Leave a Reply

