The New Normal (Lens)

50mm is the new normal.

I have been hunting for a 50mm f/1.8 Nikon lens for almost six months. It seems that the earthquake and tsunami in Japan (Nikon has a plant in Sendai, as I understand it) and then the flooding in Thailand made it very difficult for Nikon to build and ship quite a few of their products. Then on a whim this weekend I checked the stock at my local BestBuy through their Android app, and it said they had the lens. I was nearby so I went in, asked the clerk, and was told they don’t have them. (There were none in the display or the little cage.) None the less, when I left the store I placed order online to pick up the lens. They filled it no problem.

So now I have that 50mm lens I had been yearning for. But I’ve spent so much time with my 35mm f/1.8 that I almost don’t know what to do with the new lens. I have a DX format camera, so 50mm is a little bit telephoto. I guess I have to force myself to get used to it.

So I’m going to make it my new “normal” lens: always on the camera.

Leave a Reply

